ISC Topic 6: Intergrated Stratigic Communication

Posted: April 24, 2011 in COMM 306, ISC Topics, Uncategorized

I entered Integrated Strategic Communication not knowing anything about the course. All I knew was that I was placed in the course by Michelle Kelly because it was an open communications course. Little did I know then that this course was about public relations, a field I may partake in the future.

In my first post (link below) I said “Strategic Communication to me is the communicating of ideas and data over a prolonged period of time to achieve a certain goal. It is more of a long term process that requires planning and guidance to convey information in which organizations can use.” I still think that it is a good definition but I would have to take back the it is a “long term process.” I realize that communication in this technologically advanced world is instant. Through the use of social media networks such as Facebook, Twitter, and blogs, information and ideas can be shared at the click of a button.

https://pureum.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/first-post/

I would have to say that the course has influenced me greatly in that I understand the importance of Public Relations and the use of media. Before, I viewed as public relations as face to face relations where a PR professional is hired by a company to influence a business partnership. When I thought of public relations I used to think it was about playing on the golf course where a PR professional plays a round of golf with executives of other businesses and investors in efforts to encourage relations with the company at hand. I now know that there is so much more to public relations than that. Public relations involves communicating to large audiences as well as small ones. And the ways to communicate no longer have to be face to face but rather through the various media outlets.

Sources:

“First Post.” Web log post. Www.pureum.wordpress.com. Web. 24 Apr. 2011. <https://pureum.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/first-post/&gt;.

Leave a Reply

