First Post

Posted: February 27, 2011 in COMM 306, ISC Topics, Uncategorized

I am a sophomore at Queens University of Charlotte and play for the Royals golf team. I have yet to decide my major but I am choosing between Business and Communications. Born in South Korea, I moved to Vancouver, Canada, at the age of six. Vancouver is located on the west coast of Canada about a two hour drive above Seattle, Washington. My greatest passion in life is golf, and I hope to play professionally one day.

The reason I took this class was because I needed another communications class in the class schedule. Not only that, I do have some  interest in the field of public relations, if my golfing careers does not work out. I hope to learn about PR and what it takes to work in  public relations.

I have no past in blogging but I do understand that it is a great way to put yourself out in the public. By blogging one can publicly reveal his/her passions and interests to gain attention. My only real connection to blogging comes from watching the TV show “How I met your Mother.” In the show, one of the main characters ,”Barney Stinson,” often refers to his blog in which he publishes many interesting ideas and facts about himself. He in fact, works as a manager in a large banking company called GNB. Although this may not be the greatest example, it shows that blogging is an essential part in business.

Strategic Communication to me is the communicating of ideas and data over a prolonged period of time to achieve a certain goal. It is more of a long term process that requires planning and guidance to convey information in which organizations can use.

I understand that the age that we are living in is becoming more technologically advanced. We now use computers and the internet to convey ideas rather than on paper. So I have come to see that PR and the sharing of information online is the next big thing in the rapidly changing world of today. So I say goodbye to paper, hello to the world wide web.

Comments
  1. […] https://pureum.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/first-post/ On the PopPressed Radar Print Magazine's New Visual Artists Saint Petersburg Unveils Primorskiy Zoological Park with Geodesic Domes What One Does In Paris if One is a Carter or Knowles LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

